Warrior Princess

Published November 3, 2012 by Dawn

I look in the mirror and I do not see me. I see a civilian, a woman who desires to be admired. A woman who sometimes feels small and weak, who often feels insignificant and invisible. I put the armor on everyday, but when I look in the mirror, I do not see that warrior, and I guess that’s why I have a hard time believing in the strength of that warrior. But that fire in my heart, sometimes a glowing ember and sometimes a magnificent flame, encourages me that I am indeed a warrior princess. A princess fighting every day, not against those around me and not even against myself, but against principalities and powers of darkness and wickedness in high places. I battle the unseen. I battle the shadows in the darkness advancing against my peace and joy. I battle the enemies of my mind. The demons who try to hold me captive to thoughts that tear through me. I do not welcome the battle, I fight seemingly without ceasing for the promises I know God has spoken because my enemy is terrified of the power of God within me. Is this a prideful admission? No. I humbly admit this hurts. It’s uncomfortable. It’s exhausting. It’s costly. But it’s necessary. I am that warrior princess. And maybe the fact that I cannot see myself keeps me humble. But regardless, this I know: I am not the only one.

Leave a Reply

