Blindness

Published January 30, 2013 by Dawn

I had been around this man my entire life and never knew. I had asked him to meet me so I could forgive him for years of hatred inside myself due to his ignorance and sin toward me, but as I sat there that day, I saw it for the first time. His untouched eyes. I guess I had never noticed before that he was blind. I mean, his eyes were open, they blinked and cried just like mine. But he was completely blind. I have hated him most of my life because he never noticed me. I hated him because his world did not make sense to me, and his ignorance really angered me. I grew to hate this man, never knowing he was blind.

In my natural man, my flesh, I am very judgmental. I pride myself for having spiritual understanding and revelation, and often forget that it is God who gives this to me. With a self-righteous attitude, I abhor the ignorance of others. Or I did, until God showed me very plainly the affects of blindness.

Second Corinthians 4:3-4 says, “But if our Gospel be hid, it is hid to them that are lost: In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which believe not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them.” As I sat across from my dad and recognized his spiritual blindness, all hatred and anger melted away, and what was left was a sincere pity for him. As I listened to him speak things in ignorance, things that I had heard him say my entire life, things that had been used by Satan to plant seeds of hatred and bitterness and suspicion in me, I saw for the first time his blindness and understood his vulnerability: in his blindness, he had trusted his understanding to those who are not God, and he had been deceived. These things he spoke were his understanding of his world. They were real to him. There was no hatred in what he was saying, no malice in his words. He had been speaking lies to me my whole life because this truly was his understanding of things. And because he is blind, he does not know how wrong he is.

A blind person must put a lot of trust in their instinct to be independent. If they cannot trust their instinct, or have a poor sense of direction or awareness, they can be led astray by people whose intents are impure. Blind people are vulnerable in the sense that they are relying on a limited understanding of their surroundings. They have trusted others to make up the difference in their understanding. If that person were evil and deceived them, they could be in serious danger. In the least, they will look foolish trying to navigate their way around, and could possibly infuriate people in the process. This is also true for the spiritually blind. With a limited understanding and no spiritual illumination in their life, the spiritually blind are very vulnerable to the deceptions of Satan. In full confidence of a flawed understanding, they navigate their way through life, unaware of the dangers they truly face. Spiritually blind people do tend to frustrate others, but of course they would. We live in a world of blind people. We all are blind in a sense. Some of us are relying of Christ to lead us, and some of us are not. So the difference, really, is not in us at all. It’s in our guide.

With this new understanding, several things have happened. First, I have been released from my pride and arrogance. I’m no better than anyone else. I just have a better guide who is gracious and loving toward me. Secondly, I have forgiven years of trespass against me without looking back because that blind man was unaware of his effect in my life. Third, I have taken up my cross. I can’t know this and do nothing with it. I’d be robbing the blind.

Leave a Reply

