Naked

Published February 15, 2013 by Dawn

“So he said, ‘I heard your voice in the garden and I was afraid because I was naked; and I hid myself.’” -Genesis 3:10

With a renewed desire to know God intimately, I decided to start back at the beginning and opened my Word this evening to Genesis. I was struck by this verse. I was struck by the human nature of Adam. His frantic urge to hide himself from God, and how silly that seems given that not only had God made Adam, but God had seen Adam naked before Adam even understood his nakedness. Ugh! It’s so like me!

I have really been struggling lately to engage in prayer with God. I feel like He’s seeing and knowing the deepest parts of me, and I have this intense fear that what He sees is shameful and embarrassing. In fact, I know this is true. My carnal nature makes me blush. How much more would it make God? And no amount of denial will make it any less a part of me. Like Paul, I struggle with wanting to do the right thing and yet finding myself always wrapped up in things that cannot possibly please God. So what do I do? I hide myself from Him. I run. What I fail to see is that even before I knew shame, God knew me. He knew my frailty. He knew my carnal thoughts, my carnal ways. He knows them. He sees every part of me While I am running, He is looking for me. “Where are you?” He says. And although He knows I’m running and avoiding Him, He patiently waits for me to come back to Him, “I knew you were looking for me and I was afraid. Look at me! I’m naked and ashamed.” And He lovingly covers me, covers my shame, and beckons me to walk with Him. Oh, what a friend we have in Him!

Leave a Reply

