April Showers

Published April 28, 2013 by Dawn

The sun came out today. I haven’t seen it in a while. With spring comes the inevitable rain, because April showers bring May flowers, right? I forgot about that back in winter when I was bemoaning the cold and praying for spring. I forgot about the sunless days and the unending rain. It’s been dreary and there have been many days I would have been more than happy to stay snuggled under the covers listening to the rhythmic fall of rain outside. I tend to sleep better when it rains.

When I noticed that the sun had peeked out, I stepped outside and saw unmistakably the effects of the rain: growth. The grass in my yard seems to have grown more in the three-day downpour than it does when the rain is scarce. The leaves on the trees are coming back in earnest. It even seems that the colors are more vibrant now, I guess because the rain has washed away all the dust that settles on things that sit immobile. The effects of Spring’s rain are breathtaking. Things are beautiful again.

In my walk with Christ, I have noticed the revolving seasons that come as well. They tend to mirror the season of nature. Winter, with it’s cold, harsh, lifeless days. Summer, a stretch of long, leisurely days full of warmth and fun. Fall, when the harvest comes to full bloom and work is finally rewarded. But before all of that is Spring. Spring, with it’s rain and tireless work to prepare for the harvest to come.

One thing that cannot be denied about Spring is the growth. I think it’s safe to say that when it “rains” in life, if we allow God to do His work in us, there is always the unmistakable growth that takes place. When tears fall like rain, rest assured that the thing taking place in your life is causing you to grow into the person God would have you to be. More vibrant. More beautiful. More alive. Cleansed. And because of the work, there is a sweetness to rest during this season. Don’t miss the time of rest in His arms. It refreshes the weary heart and quenches the thirsty soul. Such is the promise of a Spring rain.

Leave a Reply

