Dancing with Him

Published July 8, 2013 by Dawn

I love to dance. Well, I love to fantasize about dancing. I’ve never actually had a romantic moment on the dance floor before. When I was younger, I loved to dance but I learned how to dance from an aunt who was once a stripper, so … obviously there was nothing romantic about my first experience on the dance floor. In high school, I skipped both my junior and senior prom because I didn’t want to go. I was a mother by the time my junior prom rolled around, and I didn’t care much for the guy who asked me to my senior prom. Since then, I have danced at weddings, but never with someone who wasn’t the bride or groom, and therefore, never with someone who wasn’t dancing with me for the money. This week, I had my first experience slow dancing with a very romantic Husband and it was pure bliss!

I was at church and we were singing:

When I look into your holiness, when I gaze into your loveliness, when all things that surround become shadows in the light of you … When I’ve found the joy of reaching your heart, when my will becomes enthralled in your love, when all things that surround become shadows in the light of you … I worship you! I worship you! The reason I live is to worship you! I worship you! I worship you! The reason I live is to worship you!

As I sang to Him and just allowed Him to wrap His loving arms around me, I became aware of only He and I and then began the most precious dance with the Lord. “His left hand is under my head and His right hand embraces me. (Song 8:2)”

I was just really aware of my dance with Jesus in that moment. I could literally feel his arms around me, and I could feel us dancing amidst the things that have become shadows in the light of Him. It was glorious. I couldn’t keep myself from smiling. Everything else lost it’s luster in that moment. I have finally embraced my marriage to the Son of God. It’s the most beautiful thing I’ve ever held on to in my life.

I now understand the repeated verse in Song of Solomon that says, “I charge you, O daughters of Jerusalem, do not stir up nor awaken love until it pleases.” I believe that the Lord has something to teach us about love before we become wooed by the love of a man. First of all, He must show us what love is. And who better to show us than God, who is love! And then, He must show us how to accept love. How to be loved, because in all honesty, most of us do not know how to be loved properly. Then, He must show us how to love. I would rather learn to love by loving God first, because He can handle all my failed attempts without becoming hurt or feeling disillusioned. And then, like a Father giving His blessings over our upcoming marriage, He also must teach us how to dance. How to hold and be held by another, how to look into another’s eyes and accept that we are adored. How to allow ourselves to be embraced. Because when we get married, we want to know how to dance … not like a stripper, but like a lady. The daughter of a King. The bride of Christ!

Leave a Reply

