Perfume or Water?

Published July 28, 2013 by Dawn

This morning, I was the cool auntie! I had my niece and nephew over and the kids were having a blast in my back yard. They were also tracking tons of mud through my kitchen, but never mind all that … nothing a little mopping couldn’t handle. They all ran back and forth from the yard to the kitchen to fill up their water guns so they could soak each other in a game of water war. Since there were three guns and four kids, my very creative son decided to fill up a squirt bottle for my three-year-old niece to use. So he looked under the kitchen sink, grabbed the biggest one he could find, dumped it out and filled it with water for her … Bye-bye mega bottle of Fabreze! Ugghh! That one hurt a bit.

So, I stopped my daughter (only because she was in the house when I realized what had happened) and I said, “Um, that’s my Fabreze bottle you all are using.” And she looked at me smartly and said very chill, “I know … we dumped it out first.” I silently counted the seconds. One … two … three – the realization of what she just said hit her and she was like, “Ooooohhh,” and gave me the “oops” look. Same reaction from my son when I mentioned it to him. So I responded to both of them, “You took something that I spent money on, dumped it out for the bottle, and filled it with water …” Then, the irony of life hit me: don’t we all, at some point in our lives, get more caught up in worthless things and forget that there is something of value inside of us.

We tend to, if we are not attentive to the things of God, fill our lives with water-like things. Things that have little significance or value in the big scheme of things. And in order to hold them, we pour out on the ground the things of value that the Lord has placed inside of us. We do this in so many ways. For instance, the time we spend partying it up with our friends instead of hanging out with our Lord. Or how about the way we use our talents to chase after worldly things like success, fame and money instead of using our talents to further the kingdom of God and bring glory to Him. The energy we waste worrying about things that shouldn’t even concern us, when we could be using it to be the hands and feet of Christ.

The worst part is the cost of it all. While my bottle of Fabreze probably only cost a little over five bucks, our worth was paid for with the blood of Christ! The fact that I wanted my kids to see the significance of their waste only compels me to think that quite possibly the Lord wants us to also see the significance of the waste of our time, our talents and our energy. It’s a big deal! We only have so much time here to do what God has called us to do, and it matters whether or not we do it! Each of us has been gifted to make an impact in the kingdom of God and we shouldn’t be wasting ourselves on things that are of relatively little significance. When you stand before our Lord, what do you want to be holding in your hands? Something that is fragrant to Him, an offering, or water?

2 comments on “Perfume or Water?

  • Once again you nailed it! I think of this often when I spend too much time in front of the TV or when I spend money on something frivolous. I absolutely love and cherish the time I spend with the Lord. I visit Him daily and even several times a day and I am always listening for His wisdom and influence.

    I have learned the hard way that things are of little consequence when all is said and done. How much more could I have served God if I hadn’t had all the knick-knacks and gadgets? Or if I had spent a little more time meditating on His word, how much more would I have been blessed? How much more could a wealthy man give to the Lord and to his fellow men had he lived a less extravagant life? How many more mouths could have been fed and lives saved? How many more answered prayers and how much more light would be shining in the world?

    Good Job Dawn!

    • Thank you, Connie. I feel very deeply that the Lord desires us to use the things of this world in service to Him, and not for ourselves. This was a great lesson for me to hear from Him as well.

  • Leave a Reply

