The Tip of the Iceberg

Published August 11, 2013 by Dawn

I’ve never seen an iceberg, up close or otherwise, in real life. I have seen some pretty amazing pictures of them on Google, though, which make me want to start planning a trip. They are pretty magnificent, if you ask me. And for all you see of the surface, there’s about 90% more of it under the water. Can you imagine that? It’s like a huge ice cube. Not much above the water, but tons just floating right below the surface.

I was reading my Bible this morning and found this treasure: Job says of the Lord in chapter 26, “He spreads out the northern skies over empty space. He hangs the earth over nothing. He wraps up water in His clouds. They are heavy, but they don’t burst. He covers the face of the full moon. He spreads His clouds over it. He marks out the place where the sky meets the sea. He marks out the boundary between light and darkness. The pillars of the heavens shake. They are terrified when His anger blazes out. With His power He stirred up the oceans … His breath made the skies bright and clear. His hand wounded the serpent that glides through the sea.” And then Job says, “Those are only on the edge of what He does. They are only the soft whispers we hear from Him. So who can understand how very powerful He is?”

I love it! Creation is just “soft whispers” we hear from Him. Miracles on the edge of what He does. In essence, Job is saying, “These are all just the tip of the iceberg!” If the tip of an iceberg represents a slight 10% of all that is there, then the full scope and weight of one is beyond our understanding. And we’re just talking icebergs, here. How much more is the full power and glory of God hidden from our grasp?

In light of this knowledge, I can’t help but wonder why I give so much thought to the capabilities of Satan in my life? After all, he is not outside of my understanding. The Lord revealed the nature of Satan within the scriptures, and the Holy Spirit reveals his activities every day. Not only that, but My God is obviously way bigger than I had imagined or given Him credit before. I mean, creation was no small thing. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg!

I look at all the fears I’ve entertained, all the lies of the enemy I’ve enabled in my life because I’ve refused to take the Lord at His Word, refused to recognize His strength working for me. All I’ve seen of Him is a mere fraction of what He is capable of! And the most wonderful part of all is that He places this strength and authority and creative ability inside each one of us when we ask Him to!

I was reading Matthew the other day and came upon this: “”Or again, how can anyone enter a strong man’s house and carry off his possessions unless he first ties up the strong man? Then he can plunder his house. (Matt. 12:26)” Most translations of this verse and commentary over it focus on Satan being the strong man. But what if it’s talking about us? Just a thought that occurred to me the other day … Let’s switch it around a little and ponder this: “Or again, how can [Satan] enter a strong man’s house and carry off his possessions unless he first ties up the strong man?” We, having become strong men (and women) because of all that Christ has put inside of us in place of our weaknesses (because according to Romans 8:26, the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness), can only be plundered by the enemy if he first binds us. How does he bind us? With his lies. By magnifying our sin in our own minds and minimizing forgiveness and grace. By speaking lies about our Father, which we believe because we doubt Him. Having successfully bound us by knowing our weaknesses (Satan studies us!), the dirty snake is then able to steal all that we have. Our joy, our praise, our dreams, our peace. You name it, it’s his. And he walks away with it all in plain sight because we sit there, bound and unable to resist.

Let me tell you something that hopefully, will set you free to take it all back: All that you’ve seen God accomplish … that’ s a small fraction of what He is capable of! It’s just the tip of the iceberg. Your dreams are not too big for Him. If He placed something in your heart, He is more than able to help you walk in it. He didn’t tell you to go out and take a look at the land if He didn’t fully intend to help you take possession of it. He is for you, not against you! And here’s another nugget from Job, just in case the enemy has you bound in self-condemnation: “I’ll continue to say I’m right. I’ll never let go of that. I won’t blame myself as long as I live. (Job 27:6)” Self-condemnation is my biggest weakness and the enemy knows it. Thus far, his accusations bind me up every time. This verse here is, from this point on, my war cry. Not that I won’t sin, because though I strive for perfection and holiness, I trip every so often. But I can confidently shout this one out because the Word says, “There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus.(Romans 8:1)” The point of my need, my sin, is where grace swoops in to free me. And I don’t have to live in condemnation any longer. Neither do you. I challenge you to make this your motto. When Satan attacks you, shout out your innocence declared by Christ when He said, “It is finished!”

Remember sweet, all that you’ve seen so far is just soft whispers. Imagine when He roars! Invite Him to roar!

Father,
Roar from Zion for us. We long to know the fullness of who You are, to here more from You and see more of You than soft whispers and the tip of the iceberg. Can we handle it? Only you know. But that doesn’t keep us from desiring You and Your fullness. You have displayed Your hand in so many ways, and according to Your Word, it’s not even a fraction of what You are able to do. Show us more of You. Renew Your works in our time, that we may glorify You. I long for more.

2 comments on “The Tip of the Iceberg

  • Dawn, Truly you were guided by the Holy Spirit as you wrote this. I never read or understood the strong man as anything other than ourselves. We remain strong men (and women when Jesus is in us and we are in Him.) Satan comes into our homes and attempts to bind us using our own sin. Even when Christ has lifted the burden of sin, Satan continually tries to accuse us again and again. He accuses us and continues to deceive us when Jesus clearly tells us that “the truth (His word) will set you free”. We were slaves to sin until Jesus freed us. We were bound by sin until Jesus set us free.
    We are no longer bound by sin although we sometimes choose it. Sometimes unwittingly and sometimes in rebellion\; but God always leaves us a way out, an exit stratedgy.

  • Leave a Reply

