Here I Am

Published September 21, 2013 by Dawn

“Place me like a seal over your heart, like a seal on your arm; for love is as strong as death, its jealousy unyielding as the grave. It burns like blazing fire, like a mighty flame. Many waters cannot quench love; rivers cannot sweep it away. (S. of S. 8:6-7)”

I was laying here listening to worship music and just letting the Spirit sooth me this afternoon, when I heard the Lord say, “Here I Am.” And I waited, because I’ve been longing for Him to speak to me a sustaining word. He continued, “When you are finished looking for someone to desire you, Here I Am. When you are finished seeking someone to make your life better, Here I Am. When you are finished searching for the one who will make you feel complete, Here I Am. When you are finished looking for someone to love you and fulfill you, Here I Am.” Then He said, “My soul yearns for you in the night; in the morning my spirit longs for you.” Is. 26:9

When I heard this last part, I thought at first He was showing me that all my yearnings and longings were simply misdirected. That my soul really longs for Him and I have misinterpreted my heart cries and run after others. But what if … what if He was really saying that He yearns and longs for me? What love is this?

Can it be true? “I belong to my beloved, and his desire is for me. (S. of S. 7:10)” After all, I can truly say that the sweetest moments are those in which He and I are together because “I delight to sit in his shade, and his fruit is sweet to my taste.(S. of S. 2:3)”  

If it is true, then “let his banner over me be love … for I am faint with love.(S. of S. 2:4)”

As I allowed myself to believe that this fullness of His love is for me, I heard Him. “My beloved spoke and said to me, ‘Arise my darling, my beautiful one, come with me. See! The winter is past; the rains are over and gone … the season of singing has come.(S. of S. 2:10-12)” At last! How wonderful that the frigid, dark winter, those barren months, are over and the rains are gone. Let us sing together, Lord.

Overwhelmed with His declaration of love, I sang to Him, “You have stolen my heart … you have stolen my heart … How delightful is your love. (S. of S. 4:9-10)”

“His mouth is sweetness itself; he is altogether lovely This is my beloved, this is my friend. (S. of S. 5:16)”

“I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine. (S. of S. 6:3)”

“How beautiful you are and how pleasing, my love, your delights. (S. of S. 7:6)”

I am completely undone by Him! Lord, “Turn your eyes from me; they overwhelm me. (S. of S. 6:5) ” How can I sit beneath your gaze, seeing that you are overwhelmed with love for me? How I have longed for someone to look at me this way! And yet, all this time, here You are, longing for me. How great is your love?!

Leave a Reply

