Driven

Published September 26, 2013 by Dawn

I’m not a very good passenger. I get carsick really easily, and it’s not a simple queasiness; I literally feel like I’m dying. A few weeks ago, we drove back from church camp, which was three or four hours away from home, and in anticipation of the ride home, I took a Dramamine with breakfast. That was my first mistake … breakfast. Second mistake was thinking I would be okay in the back seat with no air conditioner blasting in my face. By the time I finally spoke up that I needed to move, I was very green. Thankfully, when I felt as if I could not possibly feel any worse, the meds kicked in and I fell asleep. We stopped for lunch … third mistake, and then I made my fourth mistake: I took two more Dramamine so I could spend the rest of the ride unconscious. It worked. I slept for the next two days.

I don’t know what my problem is. I don’t get sick at all when I’m driving, which I do all the time. But if I sit anywhere else in a car, my body rebels and I am miserable. I have a theory: I think it’s because I’m not in control. You see, when I’m in the driver’s seat, I can anticipate the movement of my body and the movement of the car. I am automatically focused on the road ahead of me, and reacting to it as it rolls along in front of me. When I am being driven somewhere, I am utterly at the mercy of the person holding the steering wheel. This guy drove just like me … which isn’t a good thing, just sayin’.

I was praying today and this was my revelation: I am being driven. Driven by my emotions, by fear and the enemy’s tactics, by my limited understanding of things, by my dreams and desires. In short, by distractions that keep me from being present-minded and 100% effective for the Lord.

I felt impressed that what I need is the Holy Spirit. More than anything else, I need the Holy Spirit. Galatians 5 tells us that self-control is a fruit of the Spirit, and in order to not be driven by my emotions or my own will, or the enemy’s distractions, I need to bring some things back under control. The Holy Spirit is the answer. In addition to that, the Spirit can also enable me to enjoy this ride, and to have peace no matter what the circumstances and to rejoice in the Lord in all things. Truthfully, I have not rejoiced through some of it. I would have loved to, but I was sick! Sick of myself and sick of the enemy. And sick of my response to the enemy. With the Spirit’s help, I can anticipate the next step, walking in discernment and knowing that the Lord orders my steps. Joyfully!

Holy Spirit, will you join me  on this ride? Be my companion. My passenger, and my GPS. I want to be driven by you.

Leave a Reply

