Opinions are like …

Published November 15, 2013 by Dawn

My kids were airing their opinions rather freely one day to the point that I just couldn’t take another minute of their bickering back and forth over their thoughts and feelings. So I got really philosophical and began their first lesson on opinions: “Opinions are like …” They thought I was going to say something profound, and in fact, it was profound. You know the saying … It’s true, isn’t it?

Today at work, I was sitting in one of the lounges waiting on my students to finish something, and feeling rather chatty, so I struck up a conversation with a new face sitting at the table next to me. I don’t know why I was so vulnerable to the thoughts flying around in my head but I expressed most of them without thinking and ended up in the middle of the worst kind of foot-in-mouth situation. I probably offended the poor guy. Three minutes into our first encounter, and his first impression of me probably was not a good one.

To make matters worse, I remembered my time in the Word this morning and one particular verse that really stuck out to me today: “A fool delights in airing his own opinion. (Proverbs)” Yep, He tried to warn me … Thanks, Lord, for the heads-up. Sorry, I didn’t pick up on it like I should have.

The truth is, and I realize this might sound like my opinion, but I don’t think it is. I think it is truth: our opinions aren’t really worth much. They are so subjective and perception-based. I’d rather hear someone’s discernment in a matter than their opinion, because then, it’s more about the Spirit speaking than us. Our opinions have so much power in the lives of others, but most of the time, change with maturity and sometimes, with the wind. And I don’t know about you, but my opinion has revealed my foolishness more often than not, whereas, when I let the Spirit lead me in speaking to people, I don’t have these problems.

Leave a Reply

