Making Love

Published December 7, 2013 by Dawn

Snow days are good for a few things. Killing the bugs outside, bringing the family (dangerously) close together, and lots of snuggle time. Thursday, while the sleet changed to giant snow flakes outside, I was sitting on the couch sharing the coziest blanket in the house with my Bible and my computer, snuggling up with the Lord. The kids, miraculously, were snuggling close by with each other and the kindle. It was quiet, and while gentle worship songs played from my computer, I surrendered myself at the feet of the Lord to adore Him. It had been a long time since we had had a moment like this.

I don’t know how long it went on, this worship time. I wasn’t counting the minutes because there was no need for it. There was no place to be and nothing around here that needed to be done. But eventually, the kids got louder by intervals, the peace in the room broke, and I began to put my things away when I heard His voice speak: “This is making love.” Immediately, I was ridiculous and embarrassed. I knew it was the Lord speaking to me, and I knew that I was so satisfied with our time together, feeling both emptied and fulfilled all at the same time, but I thought, “Lord, the only thing I’ve ever known making love to be is crude and I would never use that term to describe this time with you.” He didn’t argue. He didn’t respond at all. But I knew He’d spoken.

Perplexed, I did a little research on the term. The internet can definitely be a scary place sometimes, but I shied away from anything that didn’t look like an academic article, and so I managed to avoid most of the dirt. What I did come up with was a shocking surprise. The term making love has gone through quite an evolution. While today, I think we all know that it’s just a nicer way of saying things, it used to mean something less physical and more innocent. The phrase “making love” was originally used to describe the wooing process. “To pay amorous attention to” was the way it was described on several of the more prestigious websites out there, although when I went back to compile the researched sites, I could only find one (not-so-prestigious, but it mirrored the ones I originally found, so I used it). People used the phrase when referring to two people who were literally stirring up affection by purposefully seeing each other with a sole purpose: making love happen between them. Couples sitting together on a park bench, speaking in soft whispers were said to be “making love.” They were creating a heart connection, out in the open, in front of everyone. They were attending to something we’ve all but forgotten in exchange for the new idea that love is something you fall in to or out of – they were creating it.

I can see why the Lord would use the term to describe our worship of Him. Our worship and adoration of Him is a way that we pursue Him. And we are told “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. (James 4:8)”  If we turn to Him and pay amorous attention to Him, He will do the same. He’s the Lover of our Souls, after all. He is romantic at His very core, calling us over and over in scripture His “bride.” He desires to woo us, the evidence woven throughout the scriptures. The symbolic wooing in Hosea, the persistent wooing in Jeremiah, the wooing from distress in Job, the fiery wooing of Solomon and his Shulamite; these are just a few of the many places the Lord talks about wooing His people until finally, we see Him taking the boldest step for Love: Jesus giving His life to save His bride. He’s madly in love with us! And He’s all about the love making.

Our adoration and worship of Him ignites the fiercest passion in Him, and He can’t contain Himself. He gives Himself over to us. He looks into our hearts and lavishes His intense love until we can’t bear any more of Him. We become overwhelmed by God in this time. His glory falls upon us and penetrates us, and we find that we have given ourselves completely over to Him. And He accepts us. In the truest sense of the word, this is making love, and it is the most precious love making of all!

*Research can be safely attributed to http://www.grammarphobia.com/blog/2012/12/making-love.html

Leave a Reply

