The Kindness of God

Published February 4, 2015 by Dawn

My mouse hovered over the share button, and my mind raced trying to contemplate my hesitation. I was about to share a “Christian” article on gay marriage, but something in me was keeping me from hitting the button. I couldn’t figure out what it was, and so I decided it was just my own pride and fear. So I sucked it up and hit the share button …. Then immediately chased it down and deleted the post. Because I realized what it was, and it wasn’t my pride or my own selfish fears. It was discernment, and that article was wrong.

Not that the writer had misinterpreted scriptures, or even misrepresented the Word in and of itself. He had misrepresented Christ. And that’s a big deal to me. Because I’m not interested in being right; I am interested in being Christ-like. And no matter what biblical principle you are arguing (why are we always arguing?!), name-calling and condemnation are UN-biblical and serve no purpose in the kingdom of God. They do, however, serve Satan in driving others away from the truth.

The truth is, the Word of God speaks for itself. We spend an awful lot of time defending something that doesn’t need our help. Either people believe or they don’t. We are called to love. We are called to be a light. Hatefulness is dark and repulsive. We’re supposed to be compelling people to Christ. Here are a few scriptures I like to hold things to in deciding whether or not to align myself with them:

“…knowledge puffs up, but love builds up. (1 Corinthians 1:8)”

“Or do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness, forbearance and patience, not realizing that God’s kindness is intended to lead you to repentance. (Romans 2:4)”

I especially like the second one. It is the kindness of God that leads people to repentance. The forbearance of God, that sees us as we are, and loves us through it. The graciousness of the Holy Spirit to lead us away from our sin as we follow Him. Away from our sin and into the arms of our loving Father. How wide and deep is the love of God! How unfathomable is His grace toward us! And not just to those who call themselves by His name, but to all men. Because He does not desire that any should perish but that all should have everlasting life. That all should come to repentance and the saving knowledge of Christ. And how can we share this with them if we are pushing them away with condemnation and hateful rhetoric?

Leave a Reply

