To Be Known By God

Published August 2, 2015 by Dawn

The other day, I went through the gas station drive-thru to break a twenty. I’m all about parking and getting out, so this was already a rare occasion. We just didn’t have enough time for the usual ceremony of loud choice-making and foolery in the store. So we went through the drive-thru. I asked my kids if they wanted anything to drink, and with their yes and no, proceeded to order a coffee for me and a blue Gatorade for my son. I didn’t take his order. I just ordered. When I turned to him with his Gatorade, his face was covered with shock and awe.
“What?” I asked him, amused.

With such child-like amazement and not a little pride, he said, “You know me! I can’t even believe it. You know me!”

All I did was order the kid a Gatorade.

I’ve thought about this so many times since then. How amazing is it to know that someone knows you? To know that without saying a word, they get you. That your desires are written in their hearts and don’t have to be expressed at all. Because they know you.

I study my kids. I mean, I have ample time and opportunity. I’m a single mom and we don’t have cable. So we spend a lot of time together and we talk and play a lot. I know their likes and dislikes. I know their fears and desires. I know what they want to be when they grow up, their hobbies, favorite books, and favorite drinks. I know what makes them worried, scared, mad, happy, ecstatic. I even know their favorite ways to sleep and their favorite subjects in school. And I love knowing them. I love learning about them. Because I love them.

Psalms 139:1-4 says, “You have searched me Lord and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue, you, Lord, know it completely.”

I do not wonder for a second with what amazement David penned these words. I saw it reflected in the face of my child when his joyful heart exclaimed to me, “You know me!” Isn’t it wonderful to know that our Heavenly Father is like, well, a father? A loving Father who studies His children and knows every part of them. Their fears and desires. Their joys and concerns. What they want to be when they grow up and what activities give them the most pleasure? Could it be that His blessings, often disguised and seemingly nonsensical, are the best for us without any doubt because our Father knows us? Better than we know ourselves?

I draw strength from this verse as I often wrestle with faith that is not yet sight. I wish I could say I am as believing as Abraham, who did not waver for 25 long years. Sadly, I waver. A lot. But then I remember that He knows me. That He is so familiar with my heart and my mind. That I am completely known by God and whatever He has and whatever timetable He is working in is best. Even when it doesn’t make sense. That His ways are higher and His blessings must be also. That “no eye has seen, no ear has heard, neither has it entered in to the heart of man what the Father has prepared for those who love him and are called according to His purpose.”  I can’t even imagine His goodness! Neither can you!

He knows us, because He loves us tremendously more than we could ever think or imagine!

Leave a Reply

