His Hands and Feet

Published March 25, 2016 by Dawn

It happened again. I took the kids to the Civic Center this afternoon, and while they played, I sat contentedly reading my bible. Right before we left, a little boy came from across the gym and sat down next to me. He said, “You know, my brothers both just got placed in foster care.” My heart broke! I said, “You are sad, aren’t you?” He nodded his head. I said, “Do you need a hug?” He leaned in with his arms open and I just hugged him back. Then I said, “Should we pray?” Again, he nodded his head. So we bowed our heads and prayed for him, his brothers and his family. Right after we got done praying, he was called back to the other side of the gym and I sat there in awe. God is so good.

My son came over and said, “Mom, what did he want?” After I told him, he and I both laughed at how God does that. All the time. All the time, He brings people into our lives for small moments that can mean so much if we take the opportunity to be His hands and feet. All the time, He is shining His light through us and drawing people to Jesus. Friends, this happens all the time in my life. Kids spill their guts at my feet and I pray for them.

The first time I vividly remember it happening, I was a very young, single mom walking the dog at the park. This seventeen-year-old boy (yep, he even told me his age!) came up to pet my dog and began telling me his latest woes. He had gotten his girlfriend pregnant and was uncertain if she would keep their baby, or let him have anything to do with the child. I was too scared then to offer to pray for him, but I did pray for him when I got home. And seven years later, I am still praying for that kid, even though now, he is a young man. I have never seen him again, but I pray for him as often as I think about him. Which is every time a kid approaches me and begins to tell me all about their lives. I remember and pray for all of them.

I have often thought of ministry as being this big thing. The souls God said He would bring to Jesus through me have filled stadiums in my mind. But what if this is what it’s all about? What if it’s small ministry opportunities that could feel like intrusions into our peaceful moments if we aren’t hiding in Christ? What if the millions of lives we will touch happen a little here and  a little there, through little boys like Malik who grow up walking with God because someone took the time to pray with him? Don’t overlook these moments, because this could be the way God uses you.

“Lift up your eyes and look about you:
    All assemble and come to you;
your sons come from afar,
    and your daughters are carried on the hip”

Isaiah 60:4

 

Leave a Reply

