Let it Rain

Published May 29, 2016 by Dawn

“In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams. Even on my servants, both men and women, I will pour out my Spirit in those days, and they will prophesy” Acts 2:17-18.

 

After seemingly endless days of rain, it finally tapered off Tuesday morning, and I decided to take the dog for a run. He was all excited, I was all excited. We were finally getting outside! Just five minutes into our run (in which I had already set a goal, and being goal-oriented, cannot stop until I reach it), the skies confirmed it was not done, just reached a lull. The heavens above us opened once more and Bleu and I found ourselves running in a torrential downpour. It was amazing.

You imagine I said that with a lot of sarcasm, and naturally, I would have. Except I had never run in a downpour before, just assumed it would be horrendous. And while maybe “amazing” is too strong a word for my affections toward the rain, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. If I can be honest, I found it kind of refreshing. I like rain. I don’t mind being wet. I really didn’t mind not being super-hot and sweaty while I was running. That was probably my favorite part.

Because I was suddenly so focused on the rain (or seeing through the rivers running down my face), I ran farther than I had originally planned and for the first time, wasn’t fighting an inner urge to stop way before my goal. I made it with ease.

On my cool-down walk back home, I began reflecting on the rain, and how much I like the fact that God said that in the last days, he would “pour out His Spirit upon all flesh.” What will it be like to be rained on by the Spirit of the Almighty God?

Firstly, in a downpour, there is no dry flesh left. In a matter of mere seconds, all flesh is covered. When the Holy Spirit comes upon us, there will be nothing of the flesh untouched by Him. There will be nothing of our natural selves uncovered to jeopardize what God is doing.

In a downpour, the water is your focus. Pain no longer hurts. No distance seems too much. You are able to do what God set you apart to do, and achieve the goal because you are no longer focused on the flesh. You are focused on the downpour.

Finally, downpours are refreshing. They awaken every part of you as the rain washes down and cools your body. In the same way, the Holy Spirit upon us will awaken every part of us to His touch.

 

 

Father,

Let it rain. Open the floodgates of heaven and let it rain. Awaken us, Lord, with the outpouring of your Holy Spirit. Make us truly alive in Christ.

2 comments on “Let it Rain

  • Leave a Reply

