His Breath

Published July 4, 2016 by Dawn

His breath kept me up all night the other night. All night long. Sunday morning, I finally fell asleep after five in the morning, waking up a few hours later and realizing I was late for praise practice. I rushed through my morning so I could make it to church on time, stopping at the gas station long enough to pick up a half-cappuccino, half-coffee concoction I was trusting to wake me up before service.

I’m a light sleeper. Everything – and I mean everything – wakes me up. But it wasn’t even like that. It was a song lyric running through my head all night that I just couldn’t shake. Like a record stuck on one track, it just kept playing over and over.

It’s your breath in our lungs, so we pour out our praise to you only.

The Holy Spirit was working it through me. God, what am I doing with your breath? It’s your breath in my lungs … how am I using that precious gift?

His breath in our lungs is about so much more than our praise experience. When God breathed into mankind, He filled our lungs with Himself. So His breath is coming out of us in the way we talk to the cashier at Wal-Mart, or mutter under our breath when someone cuts us off in traffic. It’s His breath when we bless, and His breath when we curse. It’s His breath whether we gossip or praise others. It’s all His breath. And while it’s amazing, on a Sunday morning, to feel God glorying in our exultations and praise, there are six more days of the week we can glorify Him with our mouths – with His breath – just by choosing patience, kindness, gentleness and self-control.

It’s your breath in our lungs, so we pour out our praise to you only.

Leave a Reply

