Praying for a Man

Published May 3, 2017 by Dawn

I hate confessions. It’s weird to let you into my soul. I’m not purposefully this open about things, but I feel like if God is speaking something to me, most of the time, it’s because He wants me to share it with others. So here goes …

A dear friend of mine invited me to a concert not too long ago. It wasn’t something I would have showed up to on my own because I’m not that cool. I like to sit at home and drink tea and avoid my phone … or any other form of communication with the outside world. I’m the kind of person who’s only an extrovert because I’m an introvert …

Anyway, I went to this concert and had a great time. It wasn’t just entertainment; it was worship. I love worship. I love getting lost in love for a while with my One and Only. And I love watching other people worship too. Music is one of my greatest passions and in a room full of people using their talents to worship my King is exactly where I want to be for eternity. Heaven, I can’t wait to meet you!

Ok, on to the confession: So, there was this guy … singing. On the stage. I had to close my eyes to keep from being distracted because 1.) he was gorgeous; 2.) no ring; 3.) his voice; 4.) his was lost in the worship.

I’m not saying everyone else on that stage was purely entertaining, because I don’t believe that at all. What I am saying is that this man was exuberantly worshipping. Without a ring on. Singing to my King. Gorgeously.

I kept my eyes closed most of the time so I would focus on the One I came to see. Not this guy, because before this concert, this guy did not even exist on my radar. I went home that night feeling very refreshed, released from some shackles and focused despite the distractions in my own head.

Imagine my surprise when, a few days later, God recalls this man to mind and tells me to pray for him. Here’s how that conversation went (relatively … I didn’t record it exactly):

(this guy comes to mind while I’m praying…)

Me: Ooooooo, I rebuke you, Satan!

Holy Spirit: Pray for him.

Me: … I probably shouldn’t be doing this. It’s not a good idea, Lord.

Him: It’s my Will. Pray for him.

Me: I know you mean well, but I can’t have this guy on my mind. I’m not strong enough for that. Can’t someone else?

Him: If you had a husband, you would pray for him all the time. Who prays for the single men in ministry?

Me: Their future wives. Come on, Lord, please! I can’t … I’m not strong enough to handle this.

Him: But you aren’t salacious. Pray without coveting. He’s your brother and his integrity is important.

Me: This isn’t fair.

Him: Be obedient.

So I started to pray for this man. I pray for him daily. I don’t even know him, but I guess I don’t have to. My mind revolves back to God’s question in the matter: Who prays for the single men in ministry? And while I know there are single women everywhere praying for a husband, how many of us are willing to spend our time just praying for our brothers in Christ? After all, many of them struggle with the same things we struggle with. Loneliness. Isolation. Temptation. Distractions. And the battle intensifies when we minister for the Lord.

So many of us despise the single life. So few of us are willing to let it be anything more than a waiting room before we’re ushered in to our “happily ever after.” But what if it can be more than that? I offer to you that it can. It can be a time of fulfillment in the presence of God. It can be a time of undistracted worship, and obedience, to His will. If we allow God, He can use us mightily even if no one else ever knows our names. We can be a face in a crowd at a concert, but the prayer warrior in the closet holding up the weary arms of our brothers and sisters in Christ. So to the one guy on stage without a ring … I’m praying for you, Brother.

One comment on “Praying for a Man

  • I like this very much! I find myself wondering what prayers are prayed for someone you have never met. Someone of whom the only thing you know about him is that he is a worshipper, possibly ministering to others. Does he love what he does? Many people do not wear wedding rings, is it possible that he is married but just doesn’t wear a ring? Is his relationship in trouble? Is his faith in crisis? What are his struggles? You may know the answers to some if not all of these questions which would be helpful in knowing how to personalize your prayers for him. And does it make a difference in how we pray if we find the person aesthetically pleasing to the eye or physically repulsive?
    These are just my own personal ponderings of course, rhetorical questions, if you will. I too have prayed many a prayer for people that I have never met. Sometimes strangers end up on our prayer lists. Sometimes we passed them on the street, in the store, or a gas station or even on TV. These scenarios sometimes offer clues as to the direction of our prayers for them.
    However, most of my prayers include physical healing, financial healing, spiritual healing, emotional healing. I pray that they get the support they need, that God will send saints and angels to bless them and support them and offer comfort and fellowship whatever their needs. But most of all, I pray that they will come to know God. They will seek a deeper, more spiritual, respectful relationship with the one true living God in heaven. Come and have faith, as faith comes from God. Depend on Him for all things and in all things and with thanks and praise.
    I could go on but I’d be preaching to the choir so to speak. Thank you little sister for your faith in God and for your ministry that lifts Jesus up.

  • Leave a Reply

